top of page


Open for Entries

Finalists are invited to attend LA Shorts International Film Festival for a reading of the scripts. The readings are performed by actors in front of an invited audience.


The winning script (if filmed) is guaranteed to screen at the 2025 LA Shorts International Film Festival.


All genres welcome
Scripts must be under 30 pages
Original scripts that have not started film production are eligible.

The competition is intended to foster emerging screenwriters/filmmakers break into the industry. It's NOT for established professional writers. 



Early Deadline: February 23, 2024 

Regular Deadline: March 29, 2024
Extended Deadline: April 26, 2024
Late Deadline: May 24, 2024 



Early Deadline $37
Regular Deadline $43
Extended Deadline $49

Late Deadline $55

We do not extend fee waivers for our screenplay competition.



Please read this agreement carefully before you submit your screenplay. By submitting your screenplay, you expressly acknowledge and agree that you shall be bound by the terms of this agreement.


•  Scripts must have been completed after January 1, 2023.
•  Scripts must not exceed 30 pages in length, excluding cover page. 
•  Scripts must be written in English. 
•  You may enter more than one script - entry fee is required for each script.

•  No refunds.


REVIEW PROCESS: LA Shorts will review scripts in their entirety. Scripts will be read and reviewed by members of our selection committee.

WINNING SCRIPT: The final film of the winning script is guaranteed to screen at the 2025 LA Shorts. All film shooting must take place after the award presentation. If it is discovered that principal photography began before the live reading, the screenplay will be disqualified.


NOTIFICATION: All writers will receive notice of acceptance or non-acceptance via FilmFreeway 


PUBLICITY & MARKETING:  All selected films and scripts may be excerpted for LA Shorts publicity purposes.


You agree to the terms & conditions and understand that any filming of

this screenplay prior to July 31, 2024 will result in disqualification.

bottom of page